Bi-National Youth Competitive Surfing
Wild Coast
Surf Education Academy
Baja Surf Club

Chris Ward and Noah Klapp win WCSO at San Miguel

Posted by admin November 16, 2017, under News | No Comments

Perfect waves again at the 7th Annual Walter Caloca Surf Open (WCSO), the 3rd stop of the 2017/18 Baja Bound Surf Series
On November 11th and 12th, 2017, the United Athletes of the Pacific Ocean (UAPO) and WILDCOAST hosted the 7th Annual Walter Caloca Surf Open at the iconic break of San Miguel in Bahia Todos Santos, Ensenada, Baja California. The binational surfing event symbolizes that the ocean has no borders and surfing can bridge the divide between countries and cultures. More importantly, the event celebrates the life of one of Ensenada's most beloved surfers, Walter Caloca, who tragically passed away several years ago, but not before he spread his love throughout the region's surfing community and beyond.
This year’s event was part of the third season of the Baja Bound Surf Series, which also included the Rosarito Surf Open held at the pier in Rosarito back in August 26th, WILDCOAST’s Dempsey Holder Ocean Festival and Surf Contest in Imperial Beach held on September 16th, and the Baja Surf Club Invitational, which is the final stop and is double in points, at San Miguel scheduled for January 13th and 14th, 2018. Baja Bound Insurance is sponsoring a prize purse of $5,000 that will be awarded to the top three open men's and open women's series points leaders.

View from the judges tower.
For the seventh consecutive year, the Pacific Ocean sent incredible waves to the WCSO. The two day event showcased an international assortment of youth and adult surfers, women, longboard and body board. San Clemente’s pro surfer Chris Ward won the stacked Open Men and earned valuable points for the series. The final also included San Diego’s shredder Dagan Stagg (2nd), from Imperial Beach Peter Stewart (3rd), and Pacific Beach’s Jay Christensen (4th). Other top standouts in the solid 4 to 6 foot offshore and perfect conditions included Jack Stewart, Tom Mathews, Austin Finley, and Kyle Knox.

Dagan Stagg also took the junior division, followed by Jack Stewart, Peter Stewart, and Joshua Estrada. The 16 and under women division was won by Olivia Passanha, followed by Hannah Yates, Ana Fletcher and Jennifer Galvan took fourth.
The body board division was won by Carlos Chaidez. Local surfer Fernando Viramontes won the longboard division for the third consecutive year. Best performance for Groms was Joshua Estrada from Rosarito.

The women's division this year was full of talent including Noah Klappp who won the final with flawless backside surfing, followed by Olivia Passanha (2nd). Placing third was Chloe Piester from Encinitas followed by Ana Fletcher from Ensenada.
On Saturday and Sunday, the Bahia Todos Santos World Surfing Reserve and Save the Waves explained to all the competitors and spectators the importance of protecting the Arroyo San Miguel to preserve the wave and watershed at San Miguel as Baja California’s first State Park.
This year's event would not have been possible without the help of WILDCOAST and UAPO's dedicated volunteer, judges, contest participants and all of the sponsors including: Baja California Tourism, Proturismo, XTERRA, Firewire, Baja Bound Insurance, Sector 9, Cobian Sandals, Fish 101 Restaurant, Ekzo, Super Brand, Baja Surf Club, Estero Beach, Hotel Sauzalito, DJ Yiyo, Café Toya, Kiku, Aborigen, La Contra, Federacion Mexicana de Surfing, San Miguel Surfboards and the Baja California Surfing Association.
UAPO is a not-for-profit organization with the mission to promote youth surfing in both California's through surf competition, cultural exchange and education.
Photos JC Monje







No comment yet.

Leave a Reply