Bi-National Youth Competitive Surfing
Wild Coast
Surf Education Academy
Baja Surf Club

Baja Bound Surf Series

Posted by admin March 17, 2015 |

Baja Bound Surf Series - 2016/17
The second season of the Baja Bound Surf Series is about to get under way! This year, the binational surf series has added a fourth contest in Rosarito Beach to take place this summer. The contests will include The Walter Caloca Surf Open at San Miguel, The Rosarito Beach Surf Open, The Dempsey Holder in Imperial Beach, and the Baja Surf Club Invitational at San Miguel.
The series will be organized by UAPO (United Athletes of the Pacific Ocean), WiLDCOAST, Baja Surf Club and Baja Bound Insurance, with the goal of promoting youth surfing, cultural exchange and environmental issues shared by the US and Mexico. "Surfing in Mexico started in the sixties because of surfers traveling the coast searching for waves" says UAPO President Alfredo Ramirez. "It didn't matter if they were in Alta California or Baja California - friendships were created, surf clubs were born, and it produced a community beyond borders. This new surf series is a testament to the idea of one ocean, one passion."
Baja Bound Surf Series
Baja Bound Insurance will be putting up a prize purse of $3,000 that will be awarded to the top three open men's and open women's points leaders at the final contest. The surf series will kick off with the Walter Caloca Surf open on April 9th and 10th at San Miguel, the iconic pointbreak in Ensenada. Registration is available online at
More info about the series organizers:
United Athletes of the Pacific Ocean (UAPO) is a not-for-profit organization with the mission to promote youth surfing in both California's through surf competition, cultural exchange and education. Uapo means 'Bridge' in Hawaiian.
WILDCOAST is an international conservation team that conserves coastal and marine ecosystems and wildlife.
Baja Bound is a San Diego based company that has been in the business of selling Mexican auto insurance online for over 15 years.

Clohe Buckley, Women's Division Champion, 2015/16 Season

Kevin Meza, Men's Division Champion, 2015/16

No comment yet.

Leave a Reply